World Language

The World Language Department at North Central offers a program which is unequaled in the state in depth and breadth. It offers a four-year sequence in Chinese, German, Heritage Spanish, Japanese and Latin. A 5 year sequence featuring Honors and College Preparatory placements are available in French and Spanish at levels II-V. ACP is offered in levels IV & V CP for both French & Spanish.

The North Central World Language Department prepares students for Advanced Placement exams in French Language, German Language, Japanese and Chinese Language and Culture, Latin Literature and Spanish Language. Students can prepare for International Baccalaureate exams in all six languages.

Freshman students who would like to begin in Level III or above are evaluated by teachers and placed according to their level of oral and written fluency with the world language.  Placement exams are offered Wednesdays in April for new students entering NCHS the following school year.

Facilities

We prepare our students for the future using sophisticated technology. The following multimedia settings are extensions of the classroom.

  • Classrooms equipped with special sound systems and interactive projectors
  • Two digital labs equipped with interactive multimedia tools
  • 4 Mac mobile carts w/headsets for listening & speaking practices

Travel Opportunities

  • Exchange program with Alsace, France
  • Summer service learning trip to Costa Rica
  • Exchange program with Hamburg, Germany
  • Fall Break trip to varied Spanish speaking destinations.

Clubs and Honoraries

All languages offer language club activities at various times throughout a school year.  French and Spanish Honor Societies compliment the curriculum for our upper level French and Spanish students.

World Language Department Members

Department Chair, French I and II – Graham Collins <gcollins@msdwt.k12.in.us>

French I, II X, IV and V – Jill Thrasher-Reid <jreid@msdwt.k12.in.us>

Spanish II X, III and III X – Megan Casey <mcasey@msdwt.k12.in.us>

Spanish I, IV X and V X – Erin Lizer <elizer@msdwt.k12.in.us>

Spanish I, IV and V – James Lang <jlang@msdwt.k12.in.us>

German – Robert Stigler <rstigler@msdwt.k12.in.us>

Spanish II and Heritage III – Rolando Urquizo <rurquizo@msdwt.k12.in.us>

Spanish II and III – Sara Silver-Lee <ssilverlee@msdwt.k12.in.us>

Japanese – Michael Dwyer <mdwyer@msdwt.k12.in.us>

Chinese and Japanese IV – Hong Sweitzer <hsweitzer@msdwt.k12.in.us>

Spanish I, Heritage I and II – Santiago Moore DeFazio <smooredefazio@msdwt.k12.in.us>

Spanish I and III X – Scott Haber <shaber@msdwt.k12.in.us>

Spanish II and III – Whitney Sumpter <wsumpter@msdwt.k12.in.us>

French II, III X and V X – Habib Diatta <hdiatta@msdwt.k12.in.us>

Latin – Brittany Haworth <bhaworth@msdwt.k12.in.us>

French III, III X and IV X – Marie Satchivi <msatchivi@msdwt.k12.in.us>