1801 E 86th St

Indianapolis, IN 46240

Main: (317) 259-5301

Attendance: (317) 259-5355

Social Studies

Overview

The North Central Social Studies Department offers students a variety of required and elective courses. Students are required to take World History or Geography, US History, Government, and Economics. Many electives such as International Relations, European History, Psychology, Human Geography, Anthropology, and Ethics Studies are offered to students who have a deeper interest in Social Studies. The department caters to the learning styles of all students with some courses offered at an accelerated level. Students can choose to challenge themselves by taking most of the classes offered in Social Studies at either the Advanced Placement (AP) or International Baccalaureate (IB) levels. Teachers in all subjects work closely with the Learning Center to meet the special needs of those students on an Individualized Education Plan. Students may also take Psychology through the Advanced College Project (ACP) from Indiana University, which gives students an opportunity to earn college credit.

Facilities

The Social Studies Department occupies all of upper H-hall on the east side of North Central High School. The walls of the hallway are filled with maps, reproduced historical documents, portraits of famous people, and flags from many nations.

Social Studies Department Members

Teacher Name Email Address Phone Extension
Ms. Bilbrey bbilbrey@msdwt.k12.in.us 45611
Mr Cooper jcooper@msdwt.k12.in.us 45603
Mr Dickerson edickerson@msdwt.k12.in.us 45599
Ms Epperson sepperson@msdwt.k12.in.us 45615
Mr Geer sgeer@msdwt.k12.in.us 45617
Mr Grays dgrays@msdwt.k12..in.us 45612
Mr Hodson ahodson@msdwt.k12.in.us 45597
Mr Hruskocy ehruskocy@msdwt.k12.in.us 45595
Ms Jobe tjobes@msdwt.k12.in.us 45610
Ms Kaplan akaplan@msdwt.k12.in.us 45602
Mr Lee clee@msdwt.k12.in.us 45598
Mr Mobley rmobley@msdwt.k12.in.us 45609
Mrs Neikirk eneikirk@msdwt.k12.in.us 45596
Ms. Pack hpack@msdwt.k12.in.us 45606
Mr Schleich vschleic@msdwt.k12.in.us 45614
Mr Silverman lsilverman@msdwt.k12.in.us 45617
Mr Tallman jtallman@msdwt.k12.in.us 45601
Ms Thompson mthompson@msdwt.k12.in.us 45594
Mr Vermilion(Dept Chair) cvermilion@msdwt.k12.in.us 45593
Mr Weller jweller@msdwt.k12.in.us 45613
Mr Wheeler dwheeler@msdwt.k12.in.us 45597
Mr Wiggins awiggins@msdwt.k12.in.us 45607

Additional Resources

2023 – 2024 Senior Naturalization Test Results

  1. 515 students
  2. 358 passed
  3. 70% pass rate