English

About

The goal of the English Department program is to help students grow in their understanding and use of the human communicative process:

 

  • as a means of affirming the worth of the individual.
  • as a vehicle for learning to think independently and critically.
  • as a means for contributing positively to democratic institutions.
  • as a means for determining a system of personal and social values.
  • as a means of developing interest in the various media, not merely as vehicles of expression, but as art forms which provide practical and aesthetic insight into human nature.
  • as an avenue to the understanding of such abstract concepts as beauty, wisdom, and truth.

 

The English Department recognizes the communicative process as three-fold: receiving, thinking, and sending. This process incorporates listening as well as reading, speaking as well as writing, and assimilating as well as receiving and sending.

 

 

Courses offered

  • College Prep Courses:
    • English 9
    • English 10
    • English 11
    • English 11S: American Film Literature
    • English 11: Ethnic Literature
    • English 12
    • English 12S: World Film Literature
    • Expository Writing (12)
    • Humanities (12)
    • Genres of Literature (12)

 

  • Honors Courses:
    • English 9X
    • English 10X

 

  • AP/IB Courses:
    • AP/IB Literature and Composition (11)
    • AP/IB Language and Composition (12)

 

  • Dual Credit Courses:
    • Advanced Composition ACP (W131) (12)
    • Genres of Literature: Literary Interpretation ACP (L202) (12)

 

  • Electives:
    • Literacy Skills Support
    • Creative Writing
    • Critical Thinking [weighted credit]
    • Etymology
    • Speech
    • Advanced Speech
    • Beginning Journalism
    • Print and Online Media
    • Yearbook

 

Summer Reading Assignment

 

Faculty

  • Mr. Greg Lineweaver (Department Chair)  glineweaver@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Mr. Tony Armstrong                                        tarmstrong@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Mary Beth Borkowski                               mborkowski@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Mr. Robert Brown                                             rbrown@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Sylvia Burlock                                            sburlock@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Kim Carlson                                               kcarlson@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Suzette Friar                                              sfriar@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Mr. Michael Gawdzik                                      mgawdzik@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Mr. Tom Gayda                                                tgayda@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Cecily Girton                                             cgirton@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Christy Halterman                                   chalterman@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Dani Hartnett                                           dhartnett@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Alicia Johnson                                          ajohnson@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Laura Mail                                                 lmail@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Melissa Martin                                          mbmartin@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Allegra Mather                                          amather@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Lynda McQuiston                                     lmcquiston@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Mr. Brandon Mitchell                                      brmitchell@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Larissa Morris                                            lmorris@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Marjorie Murphy                                       mmurphy@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Chelsea Peresie                                          cmperesie@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Marcia Rosene-Rigdon                            mrigdon@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Mr. Angel Ruiz                                                   aruiz@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Mr. Andrew Ryfa                                               aryfa@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Carla Sanford                                             csanford@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Mr. Ryan Scanlan                                              rscanlan@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Elizabeth Schroeder                                  eschroeder@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Caroline Scott                                             cscott@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Jocelyn Sisson                                            jsisson@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Mackenzie Taylor                                       mtaylor@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Mr. Kellard Townsend                                      ktownsend@msdwt.k12.in.us
  • Ms. Elaine Wiggins                                            ewiggins@msdwt.k12.in.us