1801 E 86th St

Indianapolis, IN 46240

Main: (317) 259-5301

Attendance: (317) 259-5355

Science

About

The science department at North Central offers a wide variety of courses in order to meet the diverse needs of our students. We offer a number of introductory, accelerated, and AP courses. An emphasis is placed on extensive laboratory experiments in all courses to allow students first hand experiences with practical science. Below is a general idea of the scheduling process in science courses.

Required Courses

  • 1 year (2 credits) of Biology X or CP
  • 1 year (2 credits) of a physical science: Chemistry X of CP, Physics X or CP, ICP
    • College bound students should be encouraged to take Chemistry or Physics
    • ICP (Integrated Chemistry and Physics) is better for those who struggle with math.
      • Students may take ICP before Chemistry or Physics, but not after.
  • 1 year (2 credits) of any other science course offered. 

College Recommendations

  • Most colleges would like to see 4 years of science. The best course of action includes Biology, Chemistry, Physics and one other course.

ELL Student Path

  • Earth and Space
  • ICP
  • Biology (high language proficiency needed–iLearn required)
  • If freshmen are advanced ELL’s they can take Biology and not need to be in our integrated courses so can expand into chemistry, physics or other courses.

Courses offered

  • College Prep Courses:
    • Biology (typically 9th grade, unless WIDA 3 or below)
      • Pre-requisite for Chemistry, Physics, Zoology, Biotech, Human Genetics
    • Chemistry (10-12)
    • Physics (10-12)
    • ICP (10-12)
    • Earth and Space (10-12)
    • Zoology (10-12)
    • Human Genetics/Biotechnology (10-12)
    • Project Lead The Way (Biomedical Sciences) (9-12)

 

  • Honors Courses:
    • Biology X (typically 9th grade)
      • Pre-requisite for Chemistry, Physics, Zoology, Biotech, Human Genetics
    • Chemistry X (10-12, co-req-Algebra 2)
    • Physics X (Algebra based AP) (10-12, co-req-Algebra 2)
    • GeologyX/Astronomy X (11-12) Geology is pre-req for Astronomy
    • Zoology X (10-12)
    • Anatomy and Physiology X (11-12)

 

  • AP/IB Courses:
    • Biology AP (11-12), chemistry pre-req or DC permission
    • Chemistry AP (11-12)
    • Environmental Science AP (11-12)
    • Physics AP (11-12)
    • IB Sport, Exercise and Health Science

 

  • International Baccalaureate DP course
    • Environmental Societies and Systems (ESS)

Faculty

Ms. Lynn Schopp(Department Chair) lschopp@msdwt.k12.in.us
Ms. Renee Bargy rbargy@msdwt.k12.in.us
Ms. Michele Berry mberry@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mr. Axel Brown axbrown@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mr. Brian Gropp bgropp@msdwt.k12.in.us
Ms. Kassidy Grumbles kgrumbles@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mrs. Cynthia Hairston chairston@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mr. Weston Heeren wheeren@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mrs. Jasmine Holliday jholliday@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mr. Jason Jackson jejackson@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mrs. Sherry Jackson skjackson@msdwt.k12.in.us
Dr. Martin Kelty mkelty@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mr. Evan Krabill ekrabill@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mr. Alex Lantz alantz@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mrs. Rachael Ledbetter rledbetter@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mr. Andrew McClain amcclain@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mr. Tim Shackelford tshackelford@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mr. Jason Strom jstrom@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mr. Hwa Tsu htsu@msdwt.k12.in.us
Dr. Trang Vo tvo@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mr. Chad Wallace cwallace@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mrs. Courtney Williams cawilliams@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mrs. Chelsea Willis cwillis@msdwt.k12.in.us
Mr. Ron Woods rwoods@msdwt.k12.in.us