Science

About

The science department at North Central offers a wide variety of courses in order to meet the diverse needs of our students. We offer a number of introductory , accelerated, and AP courses. An emphasis is placed in all courses on extensive laboratory experiments in order to allow students first hand experiences with practical science. Below is a general idea of the scheduling process in science courses.

Required Courses

  • 1 year (2 credits) of Biology X or CP
  • 1 year (2 credits) of a physical science: Chemistry X of CP, Physics X or CP, ICP
    • College bound students should be pushed toward Chem or Phys.
    • Students may take ICP before Chemistry or Physics, but not after.
    • ICP is better for those who struggle with math.
  • 1 year (2 credits) of any other course offered. (list on page 2)

College Recommendations

  • Most colleges would like to see 4 years of science. The best course of action includes Biology, Chemistry, Physics and one other course.

ELL Student Path

  • ICP (lower language proficiency needed)
  • Earth and Space
  • Biology (high language proficiency needed–iLearn required)
  • If freshmen are advanced ELL’s they can take Biology and not need to be in our integrated courses so can expand into chemistry, physics or other courses.

Courses offered

  • College Prep Courses:
    • Biology (typically 9th grade, unless WIDA 3 or below)
      • Pre-requisite for Chemistry, Physics, Zoology, Biotech, Human Genetics
    • Chemistry (10-12)
    • Physics (10-12)
    • ICP (10-12)
    • Earth and Space (10-12)
    • Zoology (10-12)
    • Human Genetics/Biotechnology (10-12)
    • Project Lead The Way (Biomedical Sciences) (9-12)

 

  • Honors Courses:
    • Biology X (typically 9th grade)
      • Pre-requisite for Chemistry, Physics, Zoology, Biotech, Human Genetics
    • Chemistry X (10-12, co-req-Algebra 2)
    • Physics X (Algebra based AP) (10-12, co-req-Algebra 2)
    • GeologyX/Astronomy X (11-12) Geology is pre-req for Astronomy
    • Zoology X (10-12)
    • Anatomy and Physiology X (11-12)

 

  • AP Courses:
    • Biology AP (11-12), chemistry pre-req or DC permission
    • Chemistry AP (11-12)
    • Environmental Science AP (11-12)
    • Physics AP (11-12)

 

  • International Baccalaureate DP course
    • Environmental Societies and Systems (ESS)

Faculty

    • Ms. Lynn Schopp (Department Chairlschopp@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Ms. Renee Bargy                                         rbargy@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Ms. Michele Berry                                      mberry@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mrs. Brandi Dennis                                    bdennis@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mr. Peter Gaudreau                                    pgaudreau@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mr. Brian Gropp                                          bgropp@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Ms. Kassidy Grumbles                               kgrumbles@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mrs. Cynthia Hairston                               chairston@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mr. Weston Heeren                                    wheeren@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mr. Tim Hill                                                 thill@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mr. Jason Jackson                                      jejackson@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mrs. Sherry Jackson                                  skjackson@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Dr. Martin Kelty                                          mkelty@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mr. Alex Lantz                                              alantz@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mrs. Rachael Ledbetter                              rledbetter@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mr. Tim Shackelford                                   tshackelford@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mr. Matthew Skaggs                                   mskaggs@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mr. Jason Strom                                          jstrom@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Ms. Jacqui Tschudy                                     jtschudy@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mr. Hwa Tsu                                                 htsu@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mr. Chad Wallace                                        cwallace@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mrs. Courtney Williams                             cawilliams@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mrs. Chelsea Willis                                      cwillis@msdwt.k12.in.us
    • Mr. Ron Woods                                            rwoods@msdwt.k12.in.us